Philharmonie de Paris - Home Page

from September 6, 2023 to February 29, 2024
All programming

Orchestre de Paris / Klaus Mäkelä

Chœur de l’Orchestre de Paris - Bertrand Chamayou - Stravinski, Prokofiev, Rachmaninoff
Symphonic Concert
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie
Duration: about 2h20 with 1 intermission



Igor Stravinski
Sergueï Prokofiev
Concerto pour piano n° 1
Serge Rachmaninoff
Les Cloches
Orchestre de Paris
Chœur de l'Orchestre de Paris
Chœur du Helsinki music Center
Klaus Mäkelä , conducting
Bertrand Chamayou , piano
Olga Peretyatko , soprano
Pavel Petrov , tenor
Alexey Markov , baritone
Richard Wilberforce , choirmaster
Eleriin Müüripeal , choirmaster

This fascinating snapshot of Russian music around 1910 brings together Petrushka’s sarcastic leaps, the liturgical depth of Rachmaninov’s Bells, and the intrepid modernism of young Prokofiev.

The year was 1911 when Paris discovered the antics of Petrushka, the trickster puppet at the heart of Stravinsky’s new ballet, a virtuoso work of carnivals and colourful dances,

Created during exactly the same period is Rachmaninov’s The Bells, a poem for symphony orchestra, chorus and soloists inspired by an Edgar Allan Poe poem. Symbolizing the different ages of life, the four sections allegorize mortal existence as it unfolds to the sounding of the bells—up to the fated final tolling.

It was also at this precise time that Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 1 rang out in St. Petersburg, played by the ‘enfant terrible’ himself. Listeners were rattled by its radical modernity, unbridled ‘motorness’ and frenzied virtuosity—a sentiment shared by an American critic who said of the composer’s work several years later, ‘If this is music, then I prefer agriculture’.


Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie

See the venue

Getting here

Porte de Pantin station
Paris Underground (Métro) Line 5
Tram 3B 


221 avenue Jean-Jaurès, 75019 Paris

To leave after this concert

taxi G7