Symphonic Concert

Orchestre de Paris - Chœur de l’Orchestre de Paris - Jaap van Zweden

Jaap van ZwedenJaap van Zweden © Hans van der Woerd
David FrayDavid Fray © Paolo Roversi
Werner GüraWerner Güra © Monika Rittershaus
Lionel SowLionel Sow © JB. Millot
Past event(s)

Practical Infos

  • See the concert hall
  • Reduced prices and subscriptions
  • How to come?
  • Accessibility Info
Wednesday, 6 May 2015 — 8:30pm
Thursday, 7 May 2015 — 8:30pm
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie


  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
    Concerto pour piano n°20 en ré mineur K.466
  • Gustav Mahler
    Le Chant Plaintif Das Klagende Lied version originale


  • Orchestre de Paris
  • Jaap van Zweden
  • David Fray
  • Mélanie Diener
  • Iris Vermillion
  • Werner Güra
  • Ludwig Mittelhammer
  • Maîtrise de Paris
  • Michelle Bréant
  • Fanny Dupont
  • Choeur de l'Orchestre de Paris
  • Lionel Sow
A bone that turns into a flute and denounces the killer…, this is the Brothers Grimm tale on which Mahler’s Das klagende Lied was based. With the virtuoso fingers of David Fray, the concert opens with the dramatic tonality of Mozart’s Don Giovanni overture —his Piano Concerto in D Minor.

On the one hand: a tormented Mozart and one of his darkest piano concertos — his twentieth, composed in the same tonality as his Requiem.  On the other hand: Mahler, composing a cantata haunted by death, Das klagende Lied (Song of Lamentation). In both cases, we observe artists using their genius to express the ineffable. Mozart is at his peak, making the piano dialogue wildly with the dark moods of the orchestra. Mahler is but twenty years old yet already able to dazzle through this perfect alliance of voice and orchestra, announcing his great symphonies and his Kindertotenlieder. A grave, elegiac concert.


Piano Concerto No. 20 in D minor, K. 466: III. Rondo (Allegro assai)
Piano Concerto No. 25 in C Major, K. 503: III. Allegretto
Das klagende Lied: Fig. 11 "Ein Spielmann"