Symphonic Concert

Orchestre de Paris / Gianandrea Noseda

Philippe Aïche - David Gaillard - Mozart, Brahms

Gianandrea NosedaGianandrea Noseda © Steve J. Sherman
David GaillardDavid Gaillard © Studio Cabrelli
Philippe AïchePhilippe Aïche © Studio Cabrelli
Past event(s)

Practical Infos

  • See the concert hall
  • Reduced prices and subscriptions
  • How to come?
  • Accessibility Info
Wednesday, 16 September 2020 — 8:30pm
Thursday, 17 September 2020 — 8:30pm
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie


  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
    Symphonie concertante pour violon, alto et orchestre
  • Johannes Brahms
    Symphonie n° 2


  • Orchestre de Paris
  • Gianandrea Noseda, conducting
  • Philippe Aïche, violin
  • David Gaillard, viola
Gianandrea Noseda will replace Christoph von Dohnányi. The programme for this concert has been slightly modified.
Spectators will be contacted several days before the concert date regarding the measures in place at the venue, adapted according to the latest public health directives in force.

Mozart’s dialogue between violin and viola—here, in the hands of Orchestre de Paris soloists Philippe Aïche and David Gaillard—reaches peak emotional density in the Andante, placing this radiant and profound Sinfonia Concertante, composed when Mozart was 23 years old, on par with the masterpieces of his final period. We know that the young composer played the viola part himself, lending his early acclaim to the instrument’s uniquely touching timbre.
Brahms’s Symphony No. 2, sometimes qualified as ‘classical’, also celebrates the strings, particularly in the Adagio dominated by the cellos’ meditative lyricism, demonstrating Mozart’s significant influence on Brahms.


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart : Symphonie concertante pour violon, alto et orchestre en mi bémol majeur K. 364 - David Grimal, violon, Nobuko Imai, alto, Les Dissonances