Symphonic Concert

Orchestre de Paris / Paavo Järvi

Beatrice Rana - Stravinski, Tchaïkovski, Berlioz

Paavo JärviPaavo Järvi © Julia Bayer
Béatrice RanaBéatrice Rana © DR

To leave after this concert

  • Taxi G7

Practical Infos

  • See the concert hall
  • Reduced prices and subscriptions
  • How to come?
  • Accessibility Info
Wednesday, 27 January 2021 — 8:30pm
Thursday, 28 January 2021 — 8:30pm
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie


  • Igor Stravinski
    Scherzo fantastique
  • Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski
    Concerto pour piano n° 1
  • Hector Berlioz
    Symphonie fantastique


  • Orchestre de Paris
  • Paavo Järvi, conducting
  • Beatrice Rana, piano
The adjective ‘fantastic’, qualifying both a brilliant early score by Stravinsky and Berlioz’s monumental symphony, is the keyword for this programme full of galvanising grandeur. 

Probably inspired by an essay by Maeterlinck, Scherzo Fantastique is a demonstration of technique that already gives a sense of Stravinsky’s orchestral palette. Tchaikovsky's influence is still apparent, as in, for example, his Piano Concerto No.1, as virtuoso as it is popular, a score like an epic lyrical poem. A superlative work filled with literary references, Berlioz’s Symphonie Fantastique unfolds as the musical autobiography of the romantic artist. With its oversized orchestra and Berlioz’s famous idée fixe (‘fixed idea’), it alternates between the ethereal, pastoral motifs and chivalrous reminiscences, until the last movements, when the ‘March to the Scaffold’ and Dies Irae bring fate to the forefront in an extraordinary musical finale.

Linked events

Clé d'écoute

Le Concerto pour piano n° 1 de Tchaïkovski


Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski : Concerto pour piano et orchestre no 1 en si bémol mineur op. 23 - Yefim Bronfman, piano, Orchestre de Paris, Paavo Järvi, direction
Hector Berlioz : Symphonie fantastique op. 14 - Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, Gustavo Dudamel, direction