Symphonic Concert

Orchestre de Paris / Jaap van Zweden

Khatia Buniatishvili - Mozart, Mahler

Jaap van ZwedenJaap van Zweden © Bert Hulselmans
Khatia BuniatishviliKhatia Buniatishvili © Gavin Evans
Past event(s)

To leave after this concert

  • Taxi G7

Practical Infos

  • See the concert hall
  • Reduced prices and subscriptions
  • How to come?
  • Accessibility Info
Wednesday, 3 February 2021 — 8:30pm
Thursday, 4 February 2021 — 8:30pm
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie


  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
    Concerto pour piano n° 23
  • Gustav Mahler
    Symphonie n° 1 "Titan"


  • Orchestre de Paris
  • Jaap van Zweden, conducting
  • Khatia Buniatishvili, piano
A programme of pure Viennese genius, featuring scores composed a more than a century apart: Mozart’s sumptuous Concerto No.23 and the powerful ‘Titan’ Symphony that elevated Mahler the conductor to Mahler the composer.

Olivier Messiaen considered Concerto No.23, with its stunning and ‘prophetic’ Adagio, to be Mozart’s finest score; it is true that its harmonic and melodic perfection, and its dramatic effect worthy of Don Giovanni, make it an absolute masterpiece among concertos. In counterpoint, Mahler’s Symphony No.1, long misunderstood, offers four movements already indicative of the composer’s artistry: the creation of enchanting and static layers of sound, the tragic reactivation of the Lied spirit, the ironic use of borrowed references and parody, mixing gravity and futility, and meditative inspiration rimmed with fantastical shadows. The Symphony’s nickname ‘Titan’ is a reference to the poet Jean Paul, whom Schumann admired, as an homage to romanticism and the promise of surpassing it.


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart : Concerto pour piano no 23 en la majeur K. 488 - Pierre-Laurent Aimard (piano, direction) - Chamber Orchestra of Europe
Gustav Mahler : Symphonie no 1 en ré majeur "Titan" - London Symphony Orchestra, Bernard Haitink (direction)