Philharmonie de Paris - Home Page

Complete Brahms Symphonies
from September 29 to December 16, 2021
All programming

Orchestre de Paris / Christoph Eschenbach

Sheku Kanneh-Mason - Dvořák, Brahms
Symphonic Concert
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie
Duration: about 1h45 with 1 intermission



Antonín Dvořák
Concerto pour violoncelle, op.104
Johannes Brahms
Symphonie n° 1
Orchestre de Paris
Christoph Eschenbach , conducting
Sheku Kanneh-Mason , cello

Health pass is mandatory to access this event.

This imposing diptych is made up of Brahms’s First Symphony, still composed under Beethoven’s intimidating gaze, paired with Dvořák’s Cello Concerto, which is not without Brahmsian colours. 

It was as a seasoned composer, after twenty years of sketches, that Brahms came out with his first symphony in 1876. It is not surprising, then, that the symphony in question exhibits superior mastery, going from the modest warmth of the melodic flow (Andante) to the refinement of the gracious Scherzo-like pastoral, to the powerful Finale, with sacred elements recalling Bruckner (though  the two were cast as opponents by Viennese music critics) alongside distinctly Beethovenian hymnal majesty.

In counterpoint, Dvořák’s Cello Concerto, among the most prized in the repertoire, displays its rich lyrical palette, dramatic intensity and pious meditation. In it, the soloist’s extreme virtuosity navigates a nostalgic orchestral language traversed by reminiscences of Brahms and Tchaikovsky


Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie

See the venue

Getting here

Porte de Pantin station
Paris Underground (Métro) Line 5
Tram 3B 


221 avenue Jean-Jaurès, 75019 Paris

To leave after this concert

taxi G7