Skip to Accessibility Informations Skip to Menu mobile Skip to Menu Skip to main content Skip to footer Skip to Site Map Skip to Search
Message d’information

Health pass

Read more

Philharmonie de Paris - Home Page

Orchestre de Paris / Klaus Mäkelä

Renaud Capuçon - Messiaen, Korngold, Chostakovitch
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie
Duration: about 2h11 with 1 intermission


Olivier Messiaen
Le Tombeau resplendissant
Erich Wolfgang Korngold
Concerto pour violon
Dmitri Chostakovitch
Symphonie n°7 "Leningrad"


Orchestre de Paris
Klaus Mäkelä, conducting
Renaud Capuçon, violin

A programme cast under the shadow of World War II, with Korngold’s Violin Concerto symbolising his return to orchestra music after Hitler’s defeat, followed by Shostakovich’s poignant ‘Leningrad’ Symphony'. 

As a prelude to the programme, Messiaen’s Le Tombeau resplendissant (1931), the most personal of his early works for orchestra, already resonated as a farewell to youth. 

Korngold’s Concerto, which premiered in 1947 and was dedicated to Alma Mahler, reflects the composer’s desire to return to concert halls after working in Hollywood during the war. For this renaissance, he composed a score whose virtuosity never smothers the vocal generosity, and whose three movements contain ample quotations from his finest film music. 

Shostakovich’s 'Leningrad’ Symphony', a vast war tableau, plunges the auditor into the anguish of the city under siege, blockaded by the German troops in 1941, but also crushed by totalitarianism under Stalin. Its four movements rival each other in brutal force, but are also studded with sarcastic interpolations, ironic pastiches and galvanising marches. Perhaps nowhere else, musically at least, have the torments of dictatorship and the devastating contradictions of war been so clearly captured.


Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie

See the venue

Getting here

Porte de Pantin station
M5 Paris Underground (Métro) Line 5 3B Tram 3B
221 avenue Jean-Jaurès, 75019 Paris

To discover

Symphonic Concert

Orchestre de Paris / Klaus Mäkelä

15 & September 16, 2021
The expressiveness of the romantic lyre resonates throughout Strauss’s Four Lieder and Mahler’s ‘Titan’ Symphony, all…
Info & Tickets
Symphonic Concert

Orchestre de Paris / Klaus Mäkelä

17 & November 18, 2021
Is it possible to paint with sound? Can music create the feeling of space or of a landscape? It is questions such as…
Info & Tickets
Symphonic Concert

Orchestre de Paris / Esa-Pekka Salonen

1 & December 2, 2021
Shostakovich’s Cello Concerto No.1, dedicated to Rostropovich, delights in its sarcastic theatricality. In counterpoint…
Info & Tickets
Symphonic Concert

Orchestre de Paris / Daniel Harding

22 & December 23, 2021
Elgar’s Violin Concerto unfolds its lyricism and sensuality, all the while preserving its original enigma, the composer…
Info & Tickets