Philharmonie de Paris - Home Page

Orchestre de Paris / Klaus Mäkelä

Jean-Guihen Queyras - Mendelssohn, Dutilleux, R. Strauss
Symphonic Concert
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie
Duration: about 1h43 with 1 intermission


Felix Mendelssohn
Les Hébrides
Henri Dutilleux
"Tout un monde lointain...", pour violoncelle et orchestre
Richard Strauss
Symphonie alpestre


Orchestre de Paris
Klaus Mäkelä, conducting
Jean-Guihen Queyras, cello

Is it possible to paint with sound? Can music create the feeling of space or of a landscape? It is questions such as these, rooted in the aesthetic speculations of romanticism, that unite these three scores on the theme of journeys. 

With Mendelssohn's The Hebrides, the orchestra depicts the poetry of Ossian and the neo-medieval world of the Celtic bards. Struck by the famous Fingal’s Cave when returning from a trip to Scotland, the composer created one of the finest ‘marine paintings’ in the history of music.

A day in the Bavarian Alps is the tale told by Strauss’s powerful An Alpine Symphony—a score of glowing orchestration that takes us through the mystery of setting out at night, the sparkling sun on the snow, the mystical intoxication of the summit and the terrifying rage of the storm.

And then, the ideal, spiritual, imaginary journey. With his Baudelaire-inspired concerto Tout un monde lointain, Henri Dutilleux offers the enchantment of an enigmatic and crystalline soundscape, with a combination of rigour and lyricism that gives his art its particular perfection. 



Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie

See the venue

Getting here

Porte de Pantin station
Paris Underground (Métro) Line 5
Tram 3B 


221 avenue Jean-Jaurès, 75019 Paris

To leave after this concert

taxi G7