Skip to Accessibility Informations Skip to Menu mobile Skip to Menu Skip to main content Skip to footer Skip to Site Map Skip to Search
Message d’information

Health pass

Read more

Philharmonie de Paris - Home Page

Orchestre de Paris / Daniel Harding

Renaud Capuçon - Chœur de l’Orchestre de Paris - Elgar, Schumann, Schubert, Brahms
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie


Edward Elgar
Concerto pour violon
Robert Schumann
Franz Schubert
Gesang der Geister über den Wassern
Johannes Brahms


Orchestre de Paris
Choeur de l'Orchestre de Paris
Daniel Harding, conducting
Renaud Capuçon, violin

Elgar’s Violin Concerto unfolds its lyricism and sensuality, all the while preserving its original enigma, the composer having revealed that there was a soul enshrined within it… Three choral Lieder, also shrouded in mystery, further heighten the mystique.
The oracular mysteries of the ‘romantic night’ hover over the three choral Lieder gathered here: the sonic fabric literally palpitates in Schumann’s Nachtlied, hymn to night, to a text by Hebbel; Schubert’s unparalleled masterpiece in the ‘Sturm und Drang’ spirit honours Goethe’s poem in which the movement of water allegorizes hesitation between the materiel and spiritual world; Brahms’s Schicksalslied in three movements, sometimes called his ‘Little Requiem’, is a marvel of melodic charm and harmonic colours.

In Elgar’s expansive Violin Concerto, Renaud Capuçon’s bow can only add to the general aura of mystery. A work at once lyrical and rhapsodic, melancholy, sensual and tempestuous, it did indeed cultivate an enigmatic reputation, as the composer had noted on the score, in Spanish, a dedication: ‘Herein is enshrined the soul of…’ 


Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie

See the venue

Getting here

Porte de Pantin station
M5 Paris Underground (Métro) Line 5 3B Tram 3B
221 avenue Jean-Jaurès, 75019 Paris

To leave after this concert

taxi G7

To discover

Symphonic Concert

Orchestre de Paris / Klaus Mäkelä

13 & October 14, 2021
A programme cast under the shadow of World War II, with Korngold’s Violin Concerto symbolising his return to orchestra…
Info & Tickets
Symphonic Concert

Brahms / Un requiem allemand

3 & November 4, 2021
A programme that puts the voice in the spotlight, with a masterpiece of post-romantic expressiveness, Berg’s Early…
Info & Tickets
Symphonic Concert

Budapest Festival Orchestra / Iván Fischer

Wednesday, November 24, 2021 at 8:30 pm
Hailed by BBC Music Magazine as one of the ten best orchestras in the world, the Budapest Festival Orchestra returns to…
Info & Tickets
Symphonic Concert


15 & December 16, 2021
To write symphonies of his own, Brahms waited to be out from under the imposing shadow of Beethoven. Of the four he…
Info & Tickets