Philharmonie de Paris - Home Page

Orchestre de Paris / Stanislav Kochanovsky

Alexandre Kantorow - Liya Petrova - Aurélien Pascal - Debussy, Beethoven, Brahms
Symphonic Concert
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie
Duration: about 1h41 with 1 intermission



Claude Debussy
Prélude à L'Après-midi d'un faune
Ludwig van Beethoven
Triple concerto
Johannes Brahms
Symphonie n° 3
Orchestre de Paris
Stanislav Kochanovsky , conducting
Alexandre Kantorow , piano
Liya Petrova , violin
Aurélien Pascal , cello

With a luminous Beethovenian dialogue between soloists and orchestra, Brahmsian majesty inspired by folklore, and sensual hedonism bathed in the ancient light of Debussy’s Faun, the entire orchestral palette is here assembled! 

Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun, the musical evocation of Mallarmé’s famous poem, unfolds its dreamlike sensuality under the aegis of flute arabesques. Seamless blends of timbres and an aura of antiquity add to the sensory charm of this beloved piece, juxtaposed with the heroism of Brahms’ Symphony No.3. Carefully structured, it combines the composer’s unique fullness of sound with more dynamic and conflicting elements, sometimes enhanced by borrowings from folk music, such as gypsy and Hungarian melodies.

Expanding chamber composition into the concertante register, Beethoven’s Triple Concerto is a surprising and experimental score whose three movements (with a Finalealla Polacca’) subtly organise the balanced dialogue between three solo voices and the orchestra.


Claude Debussy : Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune - Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, Myung-Whun Chung (direction)
Ludwig van Beethoven : Triple Concerto - Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Bernard Haitink (direction), Renaud Capuçon (violon), Gautier Capuçon (violoncelle), Frank Braley (piano)
Johannes Brahms : Symphonie n° 3 - Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Paavo Berglund (direction)

Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie

See the venue

Getting here

Porte de Pantin station
Paris Underground (Métro) Line 5
Tram 3B 


221 avenue Jean-Jaurès, 75019 Paris

To leave after this concert

taxi G7