Skip to Accessibility Informations Skip to Menu mobile Skip to Menu Skip to main content Skip to footer Skip to Site Map Skip to Search

Philharmonie de Paris - Home Page

Orchestre de Paris / Klaus Mäkelä

Gautier Capuçon - Debussy, Bloch, Stravinski
Symphonic Concert
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie
Duration: about 1h45 with 1 intermission



Claude Debussy
Ernest Bloch
Schelomo - Rhapsodie hébraïque pour violoncelle et orchestre
Igor Stravinski
L'Oiseau de feu
Orchestre de Paris
Klaus Mäkelä , conducting
Gautier Capuçon , cello

The temporal and spiritual journey promised by Gautier Capuçon’s bow in Schelomo is paired with two emblematic scores: the much-loved marvel and ‘barbarian’ dance of The Firebird, and the delicate formality and radical modernity of Jeux

Debussy’s final orchestral work Jeux was conceived as a ‘danced poem’, evoking the dalliance of young people in a garden at night. Through its boldness, fragmentation, and use of micro-motifs, this subtle and exacting piece, praised by Pierre Boulez in his famous analysis, has become a paragon of musical modernity.

With another ballet score, The Firebird, after Fokine’s libretto based on a popular folk tale, Stravinsky draws us into Ivan Tsarevich’s pursuit of the wondrous bird, in a savage and dreamlike musical tapestry of wild rounds, shimmering textures, and superb cantilenas.

In its incantatory, falsely improvised style, Ernst Bloch’s Schelomo, imbued with oriental inflections, lyricism and sometimes archaic accents, deploys the voice-like quality of the cello to conjure the mythical King Solomon.



Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie

See the venue

Getting here

Porte de Pantin station
M5 Paris Underground (Métro) Line 5 3B Tram 3B
221 avenue Jean-Jaurès, 75019 Paris

To leave after this concert

taxi G7

To discover

Symphonic Concert

Orchestre de Paris / Ariane Matiakh

24 & May 25, 2023
With a captivating cosmic sketch and shimmering scenes of the sea, this program immerses us in the mystery of ‘musical…
Info & Tickets