Jesús López CobosJesús López Cobos © DR
Lionel SowLionel Sow © JB. Millot
Vocal Concert

Orchestre de Paris

Stabat Mater - Rossini

Wednesday September 30 2015 to Thursday October 1 2015
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie
How to come?Accessibility Info


  • Joseph Haydn
    Symphonie n° 49 "La Passione"
  • Intermission
  • Gioacchino Rossini
    Stabat Mater
  • Orchestre de Paris
  • Choeur de l'Orchestre de Paris
  • Jesús López Cobos
  • Joyce El-Khoury
  • Varduhi Abrahamyan
  • Michele Pertusi
  • Paolo Fanale
  • Lionel Sow
Rossini received the order for his Stabat Mater during a trip to Spain in 1831, but having fallen ill, he composed only half, leaving his friend, Gionvannia Tadolini, the task of completing the six remaining movements. Ten years later, Rossini would replace Tadolini's work with a score by his own hand. In 1842, the creation of the complete version at the Théâtre des Italiens in Paris, was a triumph.