Daniel Barenboim

Ensemble Boulez - Boulez, Schumann, Webern

Daniel BarenboimDaniel Barenboim © Peter Adamik
Pierre Boulez EnsemblePierre Boulez Ensemble © Monika Rittershaus
Pierre Boulez SaalPierre Boulez Saal © Peter Adamik
Past event(s)

Practical Infos

  • See the concert hall
  • Reduced prices and subscriptions
  • How to come?
  • Accessibility Info
Saturday, 8 September 2018 — 3:00pm
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie
Duration: about 1h55 with 1 intermission


  • Anton Webern
    Quatuor à cordes op. 28
  • Robert Schumann
    Quintette pour piano et cordes op. 44
  • Pierre Boulez
    sur Incises


  • Ensemble Boulez
  • Daniel Barenboim, piano, direction
Founded by Daniel Barenboim, the Boulez Ensemble has its artistic home in the Pierre Boulez Saal at the Barenboim-Said Akademie, where it made its first appearance in June 2015 as part of the topping-out ceremony of the academy building. Its international debut followed in January 2017 at Carnegie’s Zankel Hall in New York as part of a memorial concert for Pierre Boulez. As a flexible group not bound by a permanent roster of performers, the Boulez Ensemble brings together musicians primarily drawn from the ranks of the Staatskapelle Berlin and the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra, as well as faculty and students of the Barenboim-Said Akademie and international guest artists for each individual project. The ensemble’s artistic identity is expressed in its concert programs, which combine works of the Classical and Romantic repertoire with masterpieces of the 20th century and works by contemporary composers.
En partenariat avec la Pierre Boulez Saal Berlin

Coproduction Piano****, Philharmonie de Paris

Concert enregistré par France Musique
Video streamed concert
See live stream or replay on Philharmonie Live
Download the “Philharmonie Live” application to set up alerts for next live stream concerts


Pierre Boulez : Sur Incises, Moment I - Ensemble Boulez, Daniel Barenboim (direction)
Robert Schumann : Quintette pour piano et cordes op. 44 - E. Bashkirova, M. Barenboim, K. Rabus, M. Carruzzo, A. Brantelid
String Quartet, Op .28: 1. Mässig