Jónsi & Alex Somers jouent "Riceboy Sleeps"

Avec le London Contemporary Orchestra

Jónsi & Alex SomersJónsi & Alex Somers © DR
Past event(s)

Practical Infos

  • See the concert hall
  • Reduced prices and subscriptions
  • How to come?
  • Accessibility Info
Saturday, 6 July 2019 — 8:00pm
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie
Duration: about 2h00 with 1 intermission


  • All Animals
  • Entracte
  • Riceboy Sleeps


  • Robert Ames, conducting
  • David Handler
  • London Contemporary Orchestra
To celebrate the 10th anniversary of its release, the Icelandic duo revisits their album Riceboy Sleeps, performed here for the first time in Europe.

Riceboy Sleeps, which came out in 2009, is the first (and only) album produced by Jónsi, the lead singer of Sigur Rós, and his partner Alex Somers. The LP arose as the musical accompaniment to a graphic and photographic work published in 1000 copies three years earlier. Composed of long pieces using solely acoustic instruments, this LP is one of the finest accomplishments in ambient music today. Its renown has only grown over the past decade, with certain tracks regularly appearing in the most-played list on streaming platforms, helping make it one of the Icelandic scene’s secret masterpieces. This contemplative journey could easily have been a film score, but remains even more mysterious as an immersive audio experience—a magical potion whose power remains undiminished ten years later. Performed live only in Manhattan in 2010, Riceboy Sleeps will be presented here for the first time in Europe, with Jónsi and Alex accompanied on stage by the London Contemporary Orchestra.



Jónsi et Alex Somers - All The Big Trees (Audio)

Days Off


A one-of-a-kind pop festival that combines original creations, novel projects, big names and new talents.