Skip to Accessibility Informations Skip to Menu mobile Skip to Menu Skip to main content Skip to footer Skip to Site Map Skip to Search
Message d’information

COVID-19 : Informations

Read more

Philharmonie de Paris - Home Page

Orchestre de Paris / Klaus Mäkelä

Isabelle Faust - Hasse, Brahms, Mozart
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie
Duration: about 1h50 with 1 intermission


Johann Adolf Hasse
Fugue et grave
Johannes Brahms
Concerto pour violon
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Adagio et fugue
Symphonie n° 41


Orchestre de Paris
Klaus Mäkelä , conducting
Isabelle Faust , violin

The homage to the fugue as the quintessence of musical thought dominates this program, in which the Brahms’ Concerto for violin brings its touch of flamboyant virtuosity.

An admirable and little-known piece, Hasse's Fugue and Grave in G minor invites us to a meditation on death, which the dynamics of the counterpoint nevertheless prevent from descending into despair. Originally intended for two pianos, Mozart's Adagio and Fugue follows suit with its atmosphere of solemn tragedy and the internal tension that animates its formal complexity. That Mozart deeply internalized the art of Bach and Handel is best demonstrated by his last final symphony "Jupiter" where his prodigious ease of writing culminates in the fusion of the drama of sonata form with the rigor of counterpoint.

At ease also with the fugal style, Brahms and his Concerto for Violin is a score in the Beethovenian tradition: the ample and dense Allegro and the dreamy Adagio, with its famous oboe theme, are followed by a dizzying Finale, which sets the soloist and orchestra ablaze in an irresistible gypsy party. 


Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie

See the venue

Getting here

Porte de Pantin station
M5 Paris Underground (Métro) Line 5 3B Tram 3B
221 avenue Jean-Jaurès, 75019 Paris

To leave after this concert

taxi G7

To discover



Friday, February 11, 2022 at 6:30 pm
Two masterpieces of Brahms' maturity in this concert where Klaus Mäkalä puts down his baton and takes up his cello bow.
Info & Tickets
Chamber Music

Quatuor Hagen

Sunday, January 23, 2022 at 3:30 pm
Four decades of performing and still at the pinnacle of excellence! With its trademark refinement, the Hagen Quartet…
Info & Tickets
Chamber Music

Maxim Vengerov / Simon Trpčeski

Thursday, January 27, 2022 at 8:30 pm
The return of a legendary violinist, and the debut of a duet appearing at the Philharmonie de Paris for the first time…
Info & Tickets

Dvořák / Brahms

Tuesday, March 8, 2022 at 8:30 pm
After their complete cycle of Brahms symphonies, from 2013 to 2015, Ensemble Les Dissonances led by David Grimal…
Info & Tickets