Skip to Accessibility Informations Skip to Menu mobile Skip to Menu Skip to main content Skip to footer Skip to Site Map Skip to Search

Philharmonie de Paris - Home Page

Orchestre de Paris / Lin Liao

Mochizuki, Stroppa, Manoury
Salle des concerts - Cité de la musique
Duration: about 2h00 with 1 intermission



Philippe Manoury
Misato Mochizuki
(création de la nouvelle version)
Marco Stroppa
Come play with me
(création française)
Orchestre de Paris
Lin Liao, conducting
Carlo Laurenzi, électronique Ircam
Robin Meier, électronique Ircam
This concert-experience, celebrating Philippe Manoury's 70th birthday and featuring the premiere of a new piece by Misato Mochizuki, is a fascinating immersion into the heart of contemporary creation. 

Since the 1920s, the small town of Donaueschingen has been a centre of the European musical avant-garde. To pay homage to this eminent centre, the composer Misato Mochizuki, at the confluence of Western modernity and Japanese culture, has dedicated a score to it in which the orchestra dialogues with electronics. Electronic too, in the form of a 'musical totem' is the soloist in Marco Stroppa's Come Play with Me, whose title is inspired by a Yeats poem. Alternately lyrical and terrifying, this unique work is a tribute to nature, but also a warning about the prospect of a social and ecological apocalypse. Also linked to Donaueschingen, Ring is the first part of a Trilogy Köln proposed by Philippe Manoury in Cologne. The enchantment here comes from the arrangement of the sound groups and the spatialisation of the trajectories, which not only create a new scenography, but also transform the very experience of the concert. 


Salle des concerts - Cité de la musique

See the venue

Getting here

Porte de Pantin station
M5 Paris Underground (Métro) Line 5 3B Tram 3B
221 avenue Jean-Jaurès, 75019 Paris

To discover


Révolutions Xenakis

Thursday, June 30, 2022 at 10:05 am
On the occasion of the centenary of the birth of the composer Iannis Xenakis, the Philharmonie de Paris celebrates one…
Info & Tickets
Chamber Music

Quatuor Diotima

Thursday, December 8, 2022 at 8:00 pm
Quatuor Diotima has been at the avant-garde for twenty years, passionately bringing to life the music of our time. For…
Info & Tickets