Message d’information

During the summer

Exhibitions and the Philharmonie des enfants are open all summer. The Museum is closed for works during this period.

Read more

Philharmonie de Paris - Home Page

Orchestre de Paris / Klaus Mäkelä

Leif Ove Andsnes - Mozart, Larcher, Mahler
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie
Duration: about 1h55 with 1 intermission



Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Marche funèbre maçonnique
Concerto pour piano n° 22
Thomas Larcher
Symphonie n°2 "Cénotaphe"
Gustav Mahler
Symphonie n°10 (Adagio)
Orchestre de Paris
Klaus Mäkelä , conducting
Leif Ove Andsnes , piano
A Viennese triptych for this concert between light and shade. The Orchestre de Paris, led by its musical director, Klaus Mäkelä, reconciles tradition and modernity, in a program sweeping through three centuries of music.

Composed on the occasion of the death of two brothers of the Masonic lodge 'Beneficence', to which Mozart belonged, the short funeral piece, dominated by the wind instruments, is an unbelievable concentration of expressive pain. It contrasts with the smiling image to be found in Leif Ove Andsnes' Concerto No. 22

Thomas Larcher's Symphony No. 2, premiered in 2016, is a tribute to the refugees who perished at sea while trying to reach Europe. "I wanted to explore the forms of our musical past in the light of the developments (musical and human) of which we are a part during our lives," said the composer. This approach is reflected in the Adagio of Mahler's Tenth Symphony, the composer's last completed work, in which Romantic Europe casts its last light and prepares itself for the upheavals of the coming century.


Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie

See the venue

Getting here

Porte de Pantin station
Paris Underground (Métro) Line 5
Tram 3B 


221 avenue Jean-Jaurès, 75019 Paris

To leave after this concert

taxi G7