Philharmonie de Paris - Home Page

Klaus Mäkelä

Klaus Mäkelä / Christiane Karg

Musiciens de l’Orchestre de Paris - Schubert, Brahms
Chamber Music
Salle des concerts - Cité de la musique
Duration: about 1h15



Franz Schubert
Adagio e Rondo concertante D487
Robert Schumann
Sechs Gesänge op. 107
1. Herzeleid
Johannes Brahms
Ophelia-Lieder, pour soprano et quatuor à cordes
arrangement d'Aribert-Reimann
Franz Schubert
Le Pâtre sur le rocher, pour soprano, violoncelle et piano
Johannes Brahms
Sextuor à cordes n°1 op. 18
Christiane Karg , soprano
Klaus Mäkelä , cello
Adam Laloum , piano
Musiciens de l'Orchestre de Paris
Petteri Iivonen , violin
Gilles Henry , violin
Clément Batrel-Génin , viola
Clara Petit , viola
Paul-Marie Kuzma , cello

From Schubert’s beloved forest landscape to the river currents that become Ophelia’s watery grave, this programme dedicated to Schubert and Brahms draws us into the depths of the romantic wilds.

Schubert’s first composition for strings and piano, the Adagio e rondo concertante (1816) was composed for the cellist Heinrich Grob, the brother of Therese Grob, then the object of Schubert’s unrequited love. The cello of Klaus Mäkelä replaces the clarinet in a transcription of the famous Shepherd on the Rock (1828), a work of melodic splendour evoking a solitary wanderer immersed in nature, that transports us into the story of a novel by Eichendorff.

Nature is also at the centre of Brahms’ Ophelia-Lieder, in the river and flowers that cling to the hair of ‘pale Ophelia’, a fascinating melodic vision of Hamlet’s fiancée, whose madness and tragic death also inspired Berlioz and Richard Strauss, among others. Brahms’ ‘Springtime’ piece, String Sextet No. 1 (1860), is a work of noble simplicity, in four movements—the first two of which will conjure memories of Louis Malle’s The Lovers for those who know the film. 


Salle des concerts - Cité de la musique

See the venue

Getting here

Porte de Pantin station
Paris Underground (Métro) Line 5
Tram 3B 


221 avenue Jean-Jaurès, 75019 Paris