Symphonic Concert

Orchestre de Paris / Karina Canellakis

Aušrinė Stundytė - Jennifer Johnston - Stefan Vinke - Mikhaïl Petrenko - Chœur de l’Orchestre de Paris - Mozart, Pärt, Janáček

Karina CanellakisKarina Canellakis © Mathias Bothor

To leave after this concert

  • Taxi G7

Practical Infos

  • See the concert hall
  • Reduced prices and subscriptions
  • How to come?
  • Accessibility Info
Wednesday, 13 January 2021 — 8:30pm
Thursday, 14 January 2021 — 8:30pm
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie


  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
    Musique funèbre maçonnique
  • Arvo Pärt
    Stabat Mater
  • Leoš Janácek
    Messe glagolitique


  • Orchestre de Paris
  • Choeur de l'Orchestre de Paris
  • Karina Canellakis, conducting
  • Aušrinė Stundytė, soprano
  • Jennifer Johnston, mezzo-soprano
  • Stefan Vinke, tenor
  • Mikhail Petrenko, bass
  • Lionel Sow, choirmaster
Mozart’s funeral piece, dominated by woodwinds and composed in memory of two brethren from the Masonic lodge ‘Beneficence’ of which he was a member, is a remarkable concentration of expressive sorrow. Originally conceived for vocal trio and string trio, Arvo Pärt’s Stabat Mater, characteristic of his inimitable poetics of sound, seems to take distance from grief itself, transposing the emotion onto a broader spiritual plane. With his Glagolitic Mass, the title of which celebrates the eponymous early Slavic alphabet, Janácek turns the affirmation of faith into a pagan ritual, celebrating the energy of life and, implicitly, of the young Czech nation.   


Linked events

Clé d'écoute

Messe glagolithique de Janáček


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart : Maurerische Trauermusik (Musique funèbre maçonnique) en ut mineur K. 477 - Orchestre des Champs-Elysées, Heinz Holliger, direction