Symphonic Concert

Orchestre de Paris / Maxim Emelyanychev

Katia et Marielle Labèque - Prokofiev, Muhly, Mozart - CONCERTS REPORTÉS AUX 13 ET 14 JANVIER 2021

Katia et Marielle LabèqueKatia et Marielle Labèque © Umberto Nicoletti
Maxim EmelyanychevMaxim Emelyanychev © DR
Maxim EmelyanychevMaxim Emelyanychev © DR
Nico MuhlyNico Muhly © Heidi Solander
Past event(s)

To leave after this concert

  • Taxi G7

Practical Infos

  • See the concert hall
  • Reduced prices and subscriptions
  • How to come?
  • Accessibility Info
Thursday, 12 November 2020 — 6:30pm
Saturday, 14 November 2020 — 6:30pm
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie
Duration: about 1h27


  • Sergueï Prokofiev
    Symphonie n°1 "classique"
  • Nico Muhly
    In Certain Circles, concerto pour deux pianos et orchestre - Création / Commande du New York Philharmonic Orchestra, de la Tonhalle de Düsseldorf, des Düsseldorfer Symphoniker et de l’Orchestre de Paris
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
    Symphonie n°41 "Jupiter"


  • Orchestre de Paris
  • Maxim Emelyanychev, conducting
  • Katia Labèque, piano
  • Marielle Labèque , piano
Mozart’s final symphony, an imposing and matrical work, is juxtaposed with a pair of paradoxical gems: Prokofiev’s Classical Symphony, and the recent Concerto for Two Pianos by Nico Muhly, performed by Katia and Marielle Labèque.

Mozart’s symphony certainly merits its nickname ‘Jupiter’. At the peak of his fabulous compositional means, Mozart brilliantly deploys his skill in this work, combining dramatic inspiration and the art of classical  counterpoint, heroism and melancholy, audacity of form and subtle blends of timber. With one eye to Bach and the other to the future, the ‘terrible’ Prokofiev offers a stylistic homage—far from pastiche—to the density and dynamism of 18th-century symphonies in the four movements (including a minuet!) of his ‘Classical’ Symphony. Born in 1981, Nico Muhly, continues his explorations in concerto music—we remember his fascinating Edge of the World (2011)—to offer the Labèque sisters a score whose elegance evokes Mozart’s Concerto for Two Pianos (K. 365) from several centuries ago.

Linked events

Talks & Debates

Rencontre avec Nico Muhly