Symphonic Concert

Orchestre de Paris / Klaus Mäkelä

Kirill Gerstein - Ravel, Bartók, Bruckner

Klaus MäkeläKlaus Mäkelä © Jérôme Bonnet / Orchestre de Paris
Kirill GersteinKirill Gerstein © Marco Borggreve

To leave after this concert

  • Taxi G7

Practical Infos

  • See the concert hall
  • Reduced prices and subscriptions
  • How to come?
  • Accessibility Info
Wednesday, 17 March 2021 — 8:30pm
Thursday, 18 March 2021 — 8:30pm
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie


  • Maurice Ravel
    Pavane pour une infante défunte
  • Béla Bartók
    Concerto pour piano n° 3
  • Anton Bruckner
    Symphonie n° 9


  • Orchestre de Paris
  • Klaus Mäkelä, conducting
  • Kirill Gerstein, piano
A solemn, mystical tone dominates this programme composed of three major scores imbued with dreamlike spirituality.

Originally composed for piano, and transcribed for orchestra by the composer, Pavane for a Dead Princess is one of Ravel’s most popular works, filled with noble gravity—an elegiac evocation of a bygone Spain. 
The impression of transparency, despite the differences between the two works, is echoed in Bartók’s Piano Concerto No.3, in which the composer trades his percussive style for luminous, almost mystical textures, based on a refined vision of folk melodies.
The programme closes with Bruckner’s unfinished final work, his Symphony No.9, a shattering ‘Farewell to life’. Quoting from many of his previous works, the ‘cantor from Saint Florian’ dedicates to ‘the greatest glory of God’ the intensity of the first movement with its transcendent brasses, the apocalyptic power of the Scherzo and the ample yet resigned lyricism of the Finale, which seems to open the gate to another world.


Anton Bruckner : Symphonie no 9 en ré mineur - London Symphony Orchestra, Bernard Haitink (direction)
Maurice Ravel : Pavane pour une infante défunte - Swedish Chamber Orchestra, Thomas Dausgaard (direction)