Skip to Accessibility Informations Skip to Menu mobile Skip to Menu Skip to main content Skip to footer Skip to Site Map Skip to Search
Message d’information

2021-22 Season

New on-sale schedule: Subscriptions will be available from May 17 for the first part of our new season (September - December)

Read more

Philharmonie de Paris - Home Page

Orchestre de Paris / Klaus Mäkelä

Kirill Gerstein - Ravel, Bartók, Bruckner - CONCERT DIFFUSÉ SUR PHILHARMONIE LIVE
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie


Maurice Ravel
Pavane pour une infante défunte
Béla Bartók
Concerto pour piano n° 3
Anton Bruckner
Symphonie n° 9


Orchestre de Paris
Klaus Mäkelä, conducting
Kirill Gerstein, piano

A solemn, mystical tone dominates this programme composed of three major scores imbued with dreamlike spirituality.

Originally composed for piano, and transcribed for orchestra by the composer, Pavane for a Dead Princess is one of Ravel’s most popular works, filled with noble gravity—an elegiac evocation of a bygone Spain. 
The impression of transparency, despite the differences between the two works, is echoed in Bartók’s Piano Concerto No.3, in which the composer trades his percussive style for luminous, almost mystical textures, based on a refined vision of folk melodies.
The programme closes with Bruckner’s unfinished final work, his Symphony No.9, a shattering ‘Farewell to life’. Quoting from many of his previous works, the ‘cantor from Saint Florian’ dedicates to ‘the greatest glory of God’ the intensity of the first movement with its transcendent brasses, the apocalyptic power of the Scherzo and the ample yet resigned lyricism of the Finale, which seems to open the gate to another world.


Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie

See the venue

Getting here

Porte de Pantin station
M5 Paris Underground (Métro) Line 5 3B Tram 3B
221 avenue Jean-Jaurès, 75019 Paris

To leave after this concert

taxi G7