Philharmonie de Paris - Home Page

Paavo Jarvi

Orchestre de Paris / Paavo Järvi

Joshua Bell - Dvořák, Sibelius, Beethoven
Symphonic Concert
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie
Duration: about 1h40 with 1 intermission



Antonín Dvořák
Concerto pour violon
Jean Sibelius
Symphonie n° 7
Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphonie n° 8
Orchestre de Paris
Paavo Järvi , conducting
Joshua Bell , violin
Two symphonic masterpieces, including Sibelius' musical 'testament', accompany Joshua Bell's radiant bowing in the Dvořák Concerto.

Dvořák’s sole violin concerto, a haven of peace composed in 1879, reflects the strong influence of folk music in a lively expression of nostalgic laments. It is a piece of stunning limpidity, and a master work in melodic expressiveness and orchestral finesse. 

Less often performed than the ample Seventh and the mythical Ninth, Symphony No. 8 manifests a smiling ease and an optimistic mood, right down to the leaps of the Allegretto and the refined rusticity of the Minuetto, which recall the spirit of Mozart and Haydn. Sibelius's final Symphony contrasts this Apollonian serenity with a form of solemn, initiatory ritual, so much so that it has been called the Finnish Parsifal. Based on a matrix theme in the trombones, it unfolds like a marmoreal arch, summoning the listener into its sonic mysticism. 


Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie

See the venue

Getting here

Porte de Pantin station
Paris Underground (Métro) Line 5
Tram 3B 


221 avenue Jean-Jaurès, 75019 Paris

To leave after this concert

taxi G7
Parking vélo surveillé (payant sur réservation) (open in a new tab)