Skip to Accessibility Informations Skip to Menu mobile Skip to Menu Skip to main content Skip to footer Skip to Site Map Skip to Search

Philharmonie de Paris - Home Page

Orchestre de Paris / Lahav Shani

Martha Argerich - Beethoven, Tchaïkovski
Symphonic Concert
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie
Duration: about 1h38 with 1 intermission



Ludwig van Beethoven
Concerto pour piano n° 2
Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski
Symphonie n° 5
Orchestre de Paris
Lahav Shani , conducting
Martha Argerich , piano

Like the famous ‘PathétiqueSymphony, Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No.5 entrusts the orchestra with the secrets of an anguished and idealistic soul. In counterpoint, the verve of young Beethoven unfolds under the fingers of Martha Argerich.

Tchaikovsky was still under the spell of his Hamlet overture-fantasia when, in 1888, he composed his Symphony No.5, both a poem of fate and an intimate vision of his inner torment. Unified by a cyclical theme, the four movements seem to seek serenity through darkness until, in a grandiose Finale, the possibility of consolation in faith bursts forth.

Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No.2, still Mozart-like in its construction, displays its brio in three movements: the classical dialectic of the Allegro with its spectacular soloist pace; the more contemplative lyricism of the Largo, which contains one of the most sublime melodic inspirations of Beethoven’s early period; and the joyful, youthful verve of the Finale, whose refrain, as legend has it, was composed in a rush the night before the premiere!


Ludwig van Beethoven : Concerto pour piano n° 2 - Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Pierre-Laurent Aimard (piano et direction)
Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski : Symphonie n° 5 - Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, Lionel Bringuier (direction)

Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie

See the venue

Getting here

Porte de Pantin station
M5 Paris Underground (Métro) Line 5 3B Tram 3B
221 avenue Jean-Jaurès, 75019 Paris

To leave after this concert

taxi G7

To discover

Symphonic Concert

Santa Cecilia / Sir Antonio Pappano

Thursday, February 2, 2023 at 8:00 pm
Martha Argerich reunites with the Orchestra Dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia and Antonio Pappano for Ravel’s…
Info & Tickets
Symphonic Concert

Orchestre de Paris / Marin Alsop

20 & April 21, 2023
A concert based on the fascinating ‘correspondence of the arts’ and the philosophical extensions of this idea: here,…
Info & Tickets
Symphonic Concert

Staatskapelle Berlin / Daniel Barenboim

Wednesday, April 12, 2023 at 8:00 pm
Daniel Barenboim, guest of honour at the Pierre Boulez Biennial, conducting the Staatskapelle Berlin, places the…
Info & Tickets