Chamber Music

Shaker Loops

Concert de musique de chambreConcert de musique de chambre © J. Mignot
Past event(s)

Practical Infos

  • See the concert hall
  • Reduced prices and subscriptions
  • How to come?
  • Accessibility Info
Sunday, 11 December 2016 — 11:00am
Le Studio - Philharmonie


  • John Adams
    Quatuor à cordes n°1
    Shaker Loops


  • Solistes de l'Orchestre national d'Île-de-France
  • Virginie Dupont, violin
  • Diana Mykhalevych, violin
  • Julie Oddou, violin
  • David Vainsot, viola
  • Natacha Colmez-Collard, cello
  • Raphaël Unger , cello
  • Pauline Lazayres, doublebass
Shaker Loops was written by John Adams in 1978 and is a sort of tribute to the compositional method of repetitive loops invented by Steve Reich, Terry Riley and Philip Glass, whilst at the same time keeping his distance from their minimalist aesthetic by researching a kind of frenzy which the title suggests by ironically alluding to the Shaker Sect.
Production Orchestre national d'Île-de-France


String Quartet: II.
Shaker Loops