Skip to Accessibility Informations Skip to Menu mobile Skip to Menu Skip to main content Skip to footer Skip to Site Map Skip to Search

Philharmonie de Paris - Home Page

Orchestre de Paris / Klaus Mäkelä

Alice Sara Ott - Saariaho, Ravel, Stravinski
Symphonic Concert
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie
Duration: about 1h36 with 1 intermission



Kaija Saariaho
(création française)
Maurice Ravel
Concerto en sol
Igor Stravinski
Le Sacre du printemps
Orchestre de Paris
Klaus Mäkelä , conducting
Alice Sara Ott , piano

The totemic Rite of Spring magnifies the telluric force of the orchestra, while the Concerto in G radiates subtle modernity. Accompanying these two pillars of the repertoire is an exciting new work by Kaija Saariaho.  

Kaija Saariaho’s Vista, composed in 2019, evokes the vast American landscapes seen from behind the wheel, in an impressive acoustic whirlwind alternating between sometimes bitter lyricism and a voluble toccata spirit. The overture of two oboes recalls the illustrious bassoon solo at the start of the landmark of musical modernism, The Rite of Spring—the ultimate orchestral experience, called radical and ‘barbaric’, that sent seats flying in protest when it premiered in Paris on May 29, 1913.

Lastly, another masterpiece, Ravel’s testamentary Concerto in G, succeeds in blending classical imagination with accents of sometimes Gershwinian jazz. Its stunning energy, exhilarating in the ‘perpetual motion’ of the Finale, gives way to pure emotion in the sublime Adagio, channelling the spirit of Mozart in a sublime, hypnotic, and heart-rending melody.


Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie

See the venue

Getting here

Porte de Pantin station
M5 Paris Underground (Métro) Line 5 3B Tram 3B
221 avenue Jean-Jaurès, 75019 Paris

To leave after this concert

taxi G7

To discover


Karlheinz Stockhausen / Freitag aus Licht

Monday, November 14, 2022 at 7:30 pm
Started in 1977 and completed in 2003, Licht (Light) is a work that defies all labels: over the course of these seven…
Info & Tickets
Concert Opera

Philip Glass / Einstein on the Beach

from 15 to November 16, 2022
Ensemble Ictus and Collegium Vocale Gent perform Philip Glass’s first opera, Einstein on the Beach.
Info & Tickets
Symphonic Concert

L’Oiseau de feu

Saturday, November 19, 2022 at 8:00 pm
Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider, appointed Musical Director of the Orchestre National de Lyon in 2020, joins Yefim Bronfman for…
Info & Tickets
Symphonic Concert

Orchestre de Paris / Klaus Mäkelä

1 & March 2, 2023
A programme featuring all the charms and powers of the orchestra, with Saariaho’s surreal acoustic textures, the…
Info & Tickets