Philharmonie de Paris - Home Page

Orchestre de Paris / Klaus Mäkelä

Yuja Wang - Debussy, Ravel, Bartók
Symphonic Concert
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie
Duration: about 2h30 with 1 intermission



Claude Debussy
Prélude à L'Après-midi d'un faune
Maurice Ravel
Concerto en sol
Concerto pour la main gauche
Béla Bartók
Le Mandarin merveilleux (Suite)
Orchestre de Paris
Klaus Mäkelä , conducting
Yuja Wang , piano

The sensual hedonism of Debussy’s Faun and the equivocal enchantments of Bartók’s Mandarin—to these colourful orchestral marvels are paired with nothing less than the twin peaks of the repertoire, Ravel’s two concertos, entrusted to the fingers of Yuja Wang. 

Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun, a musical evocation of Mallarmé’s famous poem, unfolds its dreamlike sensuality under the aegis of flute arabesques. The intertwining timbres and an archaic flavour contribute to the sensory enchantment of this famous piece.

After Debussy, we turn to Ravel, with his testamentary Concerto in G, a masterful fusion of classical imagination and jazz accents sometimes Gershwinian in character. Powerful energy gives way to emotion in the Adagio, channelling the spirit of Mozart in a sublime, hypnotic and heartbreaking melody. Equally illustrious, and played without pause, is the Concerto for the Left Hand, with its obscure beginning, high dramatic tension and savagery, and its transcendent virtuosity which, here again, embraces the spirit of jazz improvisation.

The programme concludes with another master of musical modernism, Bartók, and the Orchestral Suite from his expressionist ballet The Miraculous Mandarin. This brilliant score pulls off a surprising mix of raw realism and fantasy, between the industrial din of the city and the enchantment of ‘the Orient’.


Béla Bartók : Le Mandarin merveilleux (Suite) - Budapest Festival Orchestra, Gabor Kali (direction)
Claude Debussy : Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune - Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse, Tugan Sokhiev (direction)
Maurice Ravel : Concerto en sol - David Fray (piano), Orchestre de Paris, Esa-Pekka Salonen (direction)
Maurice Ravel : Concerto pour la main gauche - Nicholas Angelich (piano), Orchestre du Conservatoire de Paris, Patrick Davin (direction)

Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie

See the venue

Getting here

Porte de Pantin station
Paris Underground (Métro) Line 5
Tram 3B 


221 avenue Jean-Jaurès, 75019 Paris

To leave after this concert

taxi G7

To discover

Piano Recital

Yuja Wang

Wednesday, June 5, 2024 at 8:00 pm
Yuja Wang, a piano phenomenon of which there are few in a generation, never ceases to amaze with her immense stage…
Info & Tickets