Philharmonie de Paris - Home Page


Chamber Orchestra of Europe - Nicholas Collon - Renaud Capuçon - Chostakovitch, Bernstein, Beethoven
Symphonic Concert
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie
Duration: about 3h05 with 1 intermission


Dmitri Chostakovitch
Symphonie de Chambre
Leonard Bernstein
Sérénade pour violon, cordes, harpe et percussions
Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphonie n° 5


Chamber Orchestra of Europe
Nicholas Collon, conducting
Renaud Capuçon, violin
This concert brings together a classic of the repertoire, a feverish work by Shostakovich, and a pure gem by Leonard Bernstein. Created in Venice in 1954 under the direction of the composer (with Isaac Stern as soloist), the latter’s Serenade takes inspiration from the characters of Plato’s Symposium: the finale opens on dissonant chords and closes in a firework of syncopated rhythms.

Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie

See the venue

Getting here

Porte de Pantin station
M5 Paris Underground (Métro) Line 5 3B Tram 3B
221 avenue Jean-Jaurès, 75019 Paris