Symphonic Concert

London Symphony Orchestra / François-Xavier Roth

Alisa Weilerstein - Bartók, Elgar

François-Xavier RothFrançois-Xavier Roth © Julien Mignot
Alisa WeilersteinAlisa Weilerstein © Marco Borggreve
Past event(s)

To leave after this concert

  • Navettes gratuites
  • Taxi G7

Practical Infos

  • See the concert hall
  • Reduced prices and subscriptions
  • How to come?
  • Accessibility Info
Monday, 23 March 2020 — 8:30pm
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie
Duration: about 2h10 with 1 intermission


  • Béla Bartók
    Suite de danses
  • Edward Elgar
    Concerto pour violoncelle
  • Béla Bartók
    Le Prince de bois


  • London Symphony Orchestra
  • François-Xavier Roth, conducting
  • Alisa Weilerstein, cello
Bartók’s Dance Suite enchants with lively and decisive rhythms, while his Wooden Prince draws us into an orchestral feerie. Elgar’s autumnal Concerto shines, a classic in the genre.


Edward Elgar : Concerto pour violoncelle - Staatskapelle Berlin, Alisa Weilerstein (violoncelle), Daniel Barenboim (direction)
Béla Bartok : Suite de danses - London Symphony Orchestra, Valery Gergiev (direction)