Symphonic Concert

Orchestre de Paris / Herbert Blomstedt

András Schiff - Brahms, Nielsen

Herbert BlomstedtHerbert Blomstedt © Mathias Benguigui / Pasco & co
Andras SchiffAndras Schiff © Nadia F Romanini / ECM Records

To leave after this concert

  • Taxi G7

Practical Infos

  • See the concert hall
  • Reduced prices and subscriptions
  • How to come?
  • Accessibility Info
Wednesday, 6 January 2021 — 8:30pm
Thursday, 7 January 2021 — 8:30pm
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie


  • Johannes Brahms
    Concerto pour piano n° 1
  • Carl Nielsen
    Symphonie n° 5


  • Orchestre de Paris
  • Herbert Blomstedt, conducting
  • András Schiff, piano
One of the of the centrepieces of the concerto repertoire meets Carl Nielsen’s most famous symphony in this programme delivered by two artists at the height of their art, Herbert Blomstedt and Sir András Schiff.

The breadth of Brahms’s inspiration, imbued with Nordic culture, is followed by the modernity of Denmark’s greatest symphonist. Initially conceived as a symphony, Brahms’s Concerto No.1 strikes with the incisive force of its famous orchestral introduction, softened by the discreet, almost magical entrance of the soloist. 
With his Symphony No.5, coloured by his meditation on the horrors of World War I, Nielsen delivered his most profound score. The first part symbolises the instinct of death, while the second rises as an expression of moral optimism, a prelude to humanity’s regeneration.


Johannes Brahms : Concerto pour piano no 1 en ré mineur op. 15 - Paul Lewis, piano, Orchestre de Paris, Daniel Harding, direction