Symphonic Concert

Orchestre de Paris / Jakub Hrůša

Gautier Capuçon - Elgar, Dvořák

Gautier CapuçonGautier Capuçon © Parlophone
Jakub Hr?šaJakub Hr?ša © Andreas Herzau

To leave after this concert

  • Taxi G7

Practical Infos

  • See the concert hall
  • Reduced prices and subscriptions
  • How to come?
  • Accessibility Info
Wednesday, 7 October 2020 — 8:30pm
Thursday, 8 October 2020 — 8:30pm
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie


  • Edward Elgar
    Concerto pour violoncelle
  • Antonín Dvořák
    Symphonie n° 9 "Du Nouveau Monde"


  • Orchestre de Paris
  • Jakub Hruša, conducting
  • Gautier Capuçon, cello
This programme is subject to change.

Spectators will be contacted several days before the concert date regarding the measures in place at the venue, adapted according to the latest public health directives in force.

Dvorák, whose ‘New World’ Symphony, though its various movements, paints a legendary and heroic mural based on the ‘recreation’ of American melodies. Under Gautier Capuçon’s bow, the subtle and condensed Cello Concerto, Elgar’s last notable work, reveals the quintessence of the English cantor’s art: indeed, with the ample use of recitatives, the solo instrument seems to speak into our ear.


Edward Elgar : Concerto pour violoncelle en mi mineur op. 85 - Marc Coppey, violoncelle, Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, Eliahu Inbal, direction
Antonin Dvorak : Symphonie no 9 en mi mineur op.95 "Nouveau Monde" - Orchestre de Paris, Tomas Netopil, direction