Symphonic Concert

Mahler / Résurrection

Orchestre de Paris - Klaus Mäkelä - CONCERT REPORTÉ AU 9 DÉCEMBRE 2020

Klaus MäkeläKlaus Mäkelä © Jérôme Bonnet / Orchestre de Paris
Elisabeth KulmanElisabeth Kulman © Julia Wesely
Mari EriksmoenMari Eriksmoen © Sveinung Bjelland
Past event(s)

To leave after this concert

  • Taxi G7

Practical Infos

  • See the concert hall
  • Reduced prices and subscriptions
  • How to come?
  • Accessibility Info
Wednesday, 18 November 2020 — 6:30pm
Thursday, 19 November 2020 — 6:30pm
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie
Duration: about 1h40


  • Gustav Mahler
    Symphonie n° 2 "Résurrection"


  • Orchestre de Paris
  • Choeur de l'Orchestre de Paris
  • Klaus Mäkelä, conducting
  • Mari Eriksmoen, soprano
  • Elisabeth Kulman, mezzo-soprano
  • Lionel Sow, choirmaster
With Mahler’s full expressive fever, Symphony No.2 ‘Resurrection’, a vast existential and metaphysical poem, explores the question of finiteness and the hope of life after death.

Borrowed from a poem by Klopstock (1724-1803), the term ‘Resurrection’ is the point on the horizon towards which the five movements converge, in a work also drawing from the melodic treasure of Des Knaben Wunderhorn (‘The Boy’s Magic Horn’). After an imposing funerary piece, quoting the famous Dies Irae, the memory of folk celebration relieves the tension, symbolising the strength and endurance of vital instinct. But anxiety soon resurges in the form of an ironic, infernal ronde, streaked with desperate dissonances and culminating in a poignant melody, ‘Urlicht’ (‘Original light’), with the voice of the alto singing the distress of humankind. Powerful and driven by internal struggles, the vast Finale resounds until the murmur of the choir after an apocalyptic silence: ‘I will die to live.’