Symphonic Concert

Orchestre de Paris / Christoph Eschenbach

Renée Fleming - Boulanger, R. Strauss, Brahms

Christoph EschenbachChristoph Eschenbach © Manu Theobald
Renée FlemingRenée Fleming © Andrew Eccles
Christoph EschenbachChristoph Eschenbach © Marco Borggreve

To leave after this concert

  • Taxi G7

Practical Infos

  • See the concert hall
  • Reduced prices and subscriptions
  • How to come?
  • Accessibility Info
Wednesday, 10 March 2021 — 8:30pm
Thursday, 11 March 2021 — 8:30pm
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie


  • Lili Boulanger
    D'un matin de printemps
  • Richard Strauss
    Lieder orchestrés
  • Johannes Brahms
    Symphonie n° 4


  • Orchestre de Paris
  • Christoph Eschenbach, conducting
  • Renée Fleming, soprano
A listening experience heightened by the affinities between the works in the programme: Lili Boulanger offers harmonic density rivalling that of Strauss, who himself perpetuates the tradition of Brahmsian lyricism.

Infused with a mythical quality, Brahms’s Symphony No. 4 is a masterpiece featuring epic themes, enchanting breakaways and the rigour of pre-classical form, especially in its supremely masterful Finale constructed from variations on a Bach cantata. Its Apollonian serenity is echoed in the limpid, sometimes vehement verve of Lili Boulanger’s ‘happiest’ score, Of a Spring Morning, remarkable in the richness of its harmony, including moments of impressionistic colours.
The concert concludes with Renée Fleming interpreting Strauss’s orchestral lieder—a late bloom of romantic culture which, like a stunning elegy, offers a lyrical and poetic ode: a sumptuous, sometimes devastating adieu to the age of musical magic.


Richard Strauss : Quatre derniers lieder - Juliane Banse (soprano), Orchestre du Conservatoire de Paris, Heinz Holliger (direction)
Johannes Brahms : Symphonie no 4 en mi mineur op. 98 - Budapest Festival Orchestra, Ivan Fischer (direction)