Skip to Accessibility Informations Skip to Menu mobile Skip to Menu Skip to main content Skip to footer Skip to Site Map Skip to Search
Message d’information

COVID-19 : Informations

Read more

Philharmonie de Paris - Home Page

Orchestre de Paris / Maxim Emelyanychev

Katia et Marielle Labèque - Prokofiev, Muhly, Mozart - CONCERTS REPORTÉS
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie
Duration: about 1h27


Sergueï Prokofiev
Symphonie n° 1 "Classique"
Nico Muhly
In Certain Circles, concerto pour deux pianos et orchestre - Création / Commande du New York Philharmonic Orchestra, de la Tonhalle de Düsseldorf, des Düsseldorfer Symphoniker et de l’Orchestre de Paris
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Symphonie n° 41 "Jupiter"


Orchestre de Paris
Maxim Emelyanychev, conducting
Katia Labèque, piano
Marielle Labèque , piano

Mozart’s final symphony, an imposing and matrical work, is juxtaposed with a pair of paradoxical gems: Prokofiev’s Classical Symphony, and the recent Concerto for Two Pianos by Nico Muhly, performed by Katia and Marielle Labèque.

Mozart’s symphony certainly merits its nickname ‘Jupiter’. At the peak of his fabulous compositional means, Mozart brilliantly deploys his skill in this work, combining dramatic inspiration and the art of classical  counterpoint, heroism and melancholy, audacity of form and subtle blends of timber. With one eye to Bach and the other to the future, the ‘terrible’ Prokofiev offers a stylistic homage—far from pastiche—to the density and dynamism of 18th-century symphonies in the four movements (including a minuet!) of his ‘Classical’ Symphony. Born in 1981, Nico Muhly, continues his explorations in concerto music—we remember his fascinating Edge of the World (2011)—to offer the Labèque sisters a score whose elegance evokes Mozart’s Concerto for Two Pianos (K. 365) from several centuries ago.



Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie

See the venue

Getting here

Porte de Pantin station
M5 Paris Underground (Métro) Line 5 3B Tram 3B
221 avenue Jean-Jaurès, 75019 Paris