Philharmonie de Paris - Home Page

Affiche Transfiguré - 12 vies

Transfiguré - 12 Vies de Schönberg

Orchestre de Paris - Ariane Matiakh - Bertrand Bonello
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie
Duration: about 1h50



Musique d'Arnold Schönberg
Mise en scène et vidéo* de Bertrand Bonello
Textes de Charlotte Beradt, Albert Giraud…
Arnold Schönberg
La Nuit transfigurée op.4
version pour orchestre à cordes de 1943
Pelléas & Mélisande op. 5
Trois Pièces pour piano op. 11
Friede auf Erden
pour orchestre et choeur
Cinq pièces pour orchestre op. 16
Erwartung op. 17
Six petites pièces pour piano op. 19
Pierrot lunaire op. 21
(2e partie)
Suite pour piano op. 25
Drei Lieder op. 48
Orchestre & soprano
Concerto pour piano op. 42
Kol Nidre op. 39
Orchestre, choeur, récitant
Bertrand Bonello , staging, réalisation*
Marie Lambert-Le Bihan , collaboration artistique, dramaturgie
Emanuele Sinisi , scénographie
Felipe Ramos , lumières
Pauline Jacquard , costumes
Sandra Berrebi , assistante costumes
Orchestre de Paris
Chœur de l'Orchestre de Paris
Ariane Matiakh , musical conducting
David Kadouch , piano
Sarah Aristidou , soprano
Julia Faure , actoress
Adrien Dantou , actor
Richard Wilberforce , choirmaster
Eiichi Chijiiwa , violon solo

Arnold Schönberg, a defining figure of modernism and founder of the ‘Vienna School’, embodies an aesthetic turning point closely linked to the most horrific history of the 20th century: to convey the range of his genius, twelve stations are not too many.

A major 20th-century artist and radical innovator in musical thought, Arnold Schönberg was also a theorist and painter who, notably through his self-portraits, never ceased to deepen his synaesthetic explorations. Ariane Matiakh and Bertrand Bonello offer a kaleidoscopic ode to Schönberg, the artistic phenomenon.

He whose music opened a new aesthetic era, but whom the Nazi regime labelled a ‘degenerate’ composer, is revealed through the prism of the number 12: like the twelve notes of the chromatic scale on which dodecaphony is based, with twelve excerpts representative of his ever-transfiguring imagination, from Pelléas et Mélisande, Erwartung, Pierrot lunaire and his Piano Concerto... Orchestra, lied and piano will attempt to outdo each other in paying tribute to the full Schönbergian palette—that it may shine today and onward as brightly as in history past.       

Production Philharmonie de Paris
Coproduction Auditorium Orchestre national de Lyon, Opéra Nice Côte d'Azur


In partnership with


Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie

See the venue

Getting here

Porte de Pantin station
Paris Underground (Métro) Line 5
Tram 3B 


221 avenue Jean-Jaurès, 75019 Paris

To leave after this concert

taxi G7