Skip to Accessibility Informations Skip to Menu mobile Skip to Menu Skip to main content Skip to footer Skip to Site Map Skip to Search
Message d’information

Health pass

Read more

Philharmonie de Paris - Home Page

Portrait of John Adams Weekend
from 10 to December 11, 2016
All programming

Orchestre National de Lyon

Joshua Weilerstein
Salle des concerts - Cité de la musique
Duration: about 1h35 with 1 intermission


Igor Stravinski
Symphonie en trois mouvements
John Adams
Concerto pour saxophone
(création française)
Darius Milhaud
La Création du Monde
Leonard Bernstein
West Side Story (Danses symphoniques)
Aaron Copland
Variations on a skaker melody


Orchestre National de Lyon
Joshua Weilerstein, conducting
Tim McAllister, saxophone
From the Symphony in Three Movements, the first important work written by Igor Stravinsky on American soil between 1942-1945 to the more recent Saxophone Concerto by John Adams (2013), not forgetting Berstein’s Symphonic Dances from West Side Story, this concert offers a glimpse of American music which borrows from jazz at least as much as jazz borrowed from the European written tradition.

Salle des concerts - Cité de la musique

See the venue

Getting here

Porte de Pantin station
M5 Paris Underground (Métro) Line 5 3B Tram 3B
221 avenue Jean-Jaurès, 75019 Paris