Symphonic Concert

Orchestre de Paris / Manfred Honeck

Igor Levit - Auerbach, Rachmaninoff, Tchaïkovski

Manfred HoneckManfred Honeck © Felix Broede
Igor LevitIgor Levit © Felix Broede / Sony
Past event(s)

To leave after this concert

  • Taxi G7

Practical Infos

  • See the concert hall
  • Reduced prices and subscriptions
  • How to come?
  • Accessibility Info
Wednesday, 16 December 2020 — 8:30pm
Thursday, 17 December 2020 — 8:30pm
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie
Duration: about 1h44


  • Lera Auerbach
    création française
  • Serge Rachmaninoff
    Rhapsodie sur un thème de Paganini
  • Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski
    Symphonie n° 5


  • Orchestre de Paris
  • Manfred Honeck, conducting
  • Igor Levit, piano
Two major scores by Tchaikovsky and Rachmaninoff follow the French premiere of Icarus by Russian-American composer Lera Auerbach.

Composed from the last two movements of the Russian-American poetess and composer’s Symphony No.1, ‘Chimera’Icarus is filled with frenzied and harrowing sound effects, evoking the dream and death of Daedalus’s son. Rachmaninoff’s virtuoso Rhapsody, in essence, a disguised piano concerto, takes Paganini’s twenty-fourth Caprice through a series of brilliant metamorphoses, also quoting the famous motif of Dies Irae. An intense orchestral meditation on fate, Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No.5 features four orchestral movements united by a common theme, the sombre ‘choral-march’ whose anxious grip seeps even into the brighter passages. It is hard to say whether the consolation comes from the elegiac lyricism of the Andante or the power of the Finale, which seeks to affirm an improbable salvation in faith.

Linked events

Clé d'écoute

Rapsodie sur un thème de Paganini de Rachmaninoff


Serge Rachmaninoff : Rhapsodie sur un thème de Paganini - Nikolaï Lugansky, piano, Orchestre National de Russie, Mikhail Pletnev, direction
Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski : Symphonie no 5 en mi mineur op. 64 - Orchestre de Paris, Andris Poga, direction