Symphonic Concert

Orchestre de Paris / Klaus Mäkelä

Christel Loetzsch - Pierre-Laurent Aimard - Chœur de chambre accentus - CONCERT DIFFUSÉ SUR PHILHARMONIE LIVE LE 20 JANVIER 2021

Concert en direct - Klaus MäkeläConcert en direct - Klaus Mäkelä © Jérôme Bonnet / Orchestre de Paris
Pierre BoulezPierre Boulez © Marcello Mencarini
Pierre-Laurent AimardPierre-Laurent Aimard © Marco Borggreve
Past event(s)

To leave after this concert

  • Taxi G7

Practical Infos

  • See the concert hall
  • Reduced prices and subscriptions
  • How to come?
  • Accessibility Info
Wednesday, 20 January 2021 — 8:30pm
Thursday, 21 January 2021 — 8:30pm
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie
Duration: about 1h25


  • Pierre Boulez
    Initiale, pour sept cuivres
  • Olivier Messiaen
    Les Offrandes oubliées
  • Maurice Ravel
    Concerto pour la main gauche
  • Pierre Boulez
    Le Soleil des eaux
  • Claude Debussy
    La Mer


  • Orchestre de Paris
  • Klaus Mäkelä, conducting
  • Pierre-Laurent Aimard, piano
  • Christel Loetzsch, soprano
  • Choeur de chambre accentus
  • Richard Wilberforce, choirmaster

As part of the second Pierre Boulez Biennial, this programme places two of his scores alongside the golden age of French music.

 Le Soleil des eaux is a major work from Boulez’s early period to which he returned multiple times in his career, creating new adaptations. Inspired by the poetry of René Char, it is presented here in its 1965 version. Debussy’s influence can already be seen, particularly in the fluid, glimmering orchestral writing of the first movement, whereas the second movement is more violent. In an altogether different register, Initiale is a fanfare for brass ensemble, with an energy that reaches hypnotic depths.

In the precision, objectiveness of the poetics, and heightened sense of colour, we can again see Boulez’s inheritance from Debussy in La Mer, with its rippled sounds, innovative orchestral lights and sprinkled, prismatic motifs. Ravel’s artistic universe, represented by the war-inspired Concerto for the Left Hand, is equally representative of this ethics of form and clarity, where the modernist approach never relinquishes a sense of restraint and control.


Video streamed concert
See live stream or replay on Philharmonie Live
Download the “Philharmonie Live” application to set up alerts for next live stream concerts
Concert enregistré par France Musique.


Maurice Ravel : Concerto pour la main gauche, en ré majeur - Nicholas Angelich, piano, Orchestre du Conservatoire de Paris, Patrick Davin, direction
Claude Debussy : La mer - Orchestre de Paris, Esa-Pekka Salonen, direction

Pierre Boulez : Le visage nuptial - Choeur de femmes de Radio France, Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, Pascal Rophé, direction