Philharmonie de Paris - Home Page

from January 31 to February 15, 2024
All programming
Dame Sarah Connolly

Orchestre de Paris / Esa-Pekka Salonen

Sarah Connolly - Bach, Elgar, Hindemith
Symphonic Concert
Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie
Duration: about 1h45 with 1 intermission



Johann Sebastian Bach
Fantaisie et Fugue (orchestration d'Edward Elgar)
Edward Elgar
Sea Pictures
Paul Hindemith
Ragtime (wohltemperiert)
Symphonie "Mathis le peintre"
Orchestre de Paris
Esa-Pekka Salonen , conducting
Sarah Connolly , mezzo-soprano

Exploring the musical notion of image this season, Esa-Pekka Salonen leads the orchestra in examining the mysteries of painting and offers a colourful homage to the iconic father figure of music, Bach.

Questions around the imitative properties of music, and ‘pictorial’ possibilities in acoustic art, are surely some of the most complex in aesthetic fields. Esa-Pekka Salonen deepens these reflections with Hindemith’s SymphonyMatthias the Painter’, drawn from his opera about Matthias Grünewald, around whose multi-panel Isenheim Altarpiece the symphony movements are structured.

Continuing on the theme of sound and image, Elgar’s Sea Pictures comprises five melodies based on poems by different authors, with Wagnerian echoes, all evoking the changing faces of the sea.

Bach, a devout Lutheran, was suspicious of visual depictions, but as an organist, he had a sense of acoustic space which comes through in Elgar’s beautiful orchestration of Fantasia and Fugue (BWV 537), written during the Weimar period. Finally, we return to Hindemith with his Ragtime, based on one of the fugues from the Well-Tempered Clavier, a humorous yet fervent homage to the venerable Bach.


Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie

See the venue

Getting here

Porte de Pantin station
Paris Underground (Métro) Line 5
Tram 3B 


221 avenue Jean-Jaurès, 75019 Paris

To leave after this concert

taxi G7