Skip to Accessibility Informations Skip to Menu mobile Skip to Menu Skip to main content Skip to footer Skip to Site Map Skip to Search

Philharmonie de Paris - Home Page

Excerpts
Excerpts

Orchestre de Paris / Klaus Mäkelä
Kirill Gerstein - Ravel, Bartók, Bruckner

Recorded the March 24, 2021 (Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie)

Program

1.
Maurice Ravel
Pavane pour une infante défunte
01:49
Excerpt
2.
Béla Bartók
Concerto pour piano n°3
01:38
Excerpt
3.
Anton Bruckner
Symphonie n°9 en ré mineur
02:15
Excerpt
A solemn, mystical tone dominates this programme composed of three major scores imbued with dreamlike spirituality.
Originally composed for piano, and transcribed for orchestra by the composer, Pavane for a Dead Princess is one of Ravel’s most popular works, filled with noble gravity—an elegiac evocation of a bygone Spain.

The impression of transparency, despite the differences between the two works, is echoed in Bartók’s Piano Concerto No.3, in which the composer trades his percussive style for luminous, almost mystical textures, based on a refined vision of folk melodies.

The programme closes with Bruckner’s unfinished final work, his Symphony No.9, a shattering ‘Farewell to life’. Quoting from many of his previous works, the ‘cantor from Saint Florian’ dedicates to ‘the greatest glory of God’ the intensity of the first movement with its transcendent brasses, the apocalyptic power of the Scherzo and the ample yet resigned lyricism of the Finale, which seems to open the gate to another world.

Distribution

Orchestre de Paris
Klaus Mäkelä, conducting
Kirill Gerstein, piano

Composers - Authors

Béla Bartók
Anton Bruckner
Maurice Ravel

Vers la page Accessibilité Menu mobile Menu principal Aller au contenu principal Pied de page Plan du site Recherche

Philharmonie de Paris - Page d'accueil

Extraits
Extraits

Orchestre de Paris / Klaus Mäkelä

 Kirill Gerstein - Ravel, Bartók, Bruckner 
Enregistré le 24 mars 2021 (Grande salle Pierre Boulez - Philharmonie)

Programme

1.
Maurice Ravel
Pavane pour une infante défunte
01:49
Extrait
2.
Béla Bartók
Concerto pour piano n°3
01:38
Extrait
3.
Anton Bruckner
Symphonie n°9 en ré mineur
02:15
Extrait
Sous la direction du chef finlandais Klaus Mäkelä, l’Orchestre de Paris interprète des œuvres de Ravel, Bartók et Bruckner.
Originellement composée pour piano, La Pavane pour une infante défunte demeure l’une des œuvres les plus populaires de Ravel, qui transcrivit pour orchestre cette évocation élégiaque, pleine de noble gravité, d’une Espagne de songe.
 
L’impression de transparence, malgré ce qui sépare les deux œuvres, se retrouve dans le Concerto pour piano n° 3 de Bartók, où le compositeur renonce à son style percussif au profit de textures lumineuses, presque mystiques, fondées sur une vision quintessenciée de mélodies populaires.

Testamentaire et inachevée, la Symphonie n° 9 de Bruckner se présente quant à elle comme un bouleversant « Adieu à la vie ». Citant nombre de ses œuvres antérieures, le « chantre de Saint Florian » dédie « à la plus grande gloire de Dieu » l’intensité du premier mouvement, avec ses cuivres transcendants, la puissance apocalyptique du Scherzo et le lyrisme à la fois ample et résigné du Finale, qui semble ouvrir sur un autre monde.

Distribution

Orchestre de Paris
Klaus Mäkelä, direction
Kirill Gerstein, piano

Compositeurs - Auteurs

Béla Bartók
Anton Bruckner
Maurice Ravel